Why Copenhagen?

This is a question that I continue to get asked and I continue to ask myself.


Denmark was a country that I knew I wanted to visit at some point, but I never pictured myself studying abroad there. If I’m being honest, there were a lot of other countries that I did want to study abroad in more but my choices were limited due to the pandemic. I consider myself extremely lucky that I even have the opportunity to study abroad and travel to a new country that I am really excited about.

If you know me, you know that I am an incredibly indecisive person. When I was first choosing locations to study abroad, I couldn’t even narrow it down to a continent, let alone a few countries. While I am dying to visit Australia and New Zealand and certain countries in Asia, which were top contenders in my mind, one of the biggest things I wanted out of my study abroad experience was the ability to travel to other countries while abroad. With this in mind, Europe seemed like the best option for me.

I am lucky enough to have travel to a number of other countries in my lifetime, many of them being in Europe, so that was another deciding factor: I wanted to study in a country I hadn’t been to before. Denmark was both a brand new country for me and it was close enough to other countries that I wanted to see that I would be able to travel from there. Not only that, I really liked the idea of going to a Nordic country because I hadn’t been to any of them.

As it became clearer and clearer that I was leaning towards Denmark, I started doing more research to make sure it was the right choice for me and I loved what I found. I loved that Denmark was ranked one of the happiest countries in the world, all of their environmental initiatives, and all of the sights and scenery made me fall in love through the photos. The cherry on top was that DIS Copenhagen not only had classes that were specific to Copenhagen and really interesting, but travel was built into the program, which is something I couldn’t wait to do.

Leave a comment